Objective: Explore texts created by your classmates to make connections and discoveries.

As you complete your responses (below), include the author’s name and a powerful “pull quote” from the text.

Vivid Response (JF): Search your class’s writing in the Vivid Descriptions forum to choose one posted story/description that you’d like to work with. Respond to the “Vivid Description” in your choice of three ways! Include the author’s name and a powerful “pull quote” from the text.

  • Used to Think… But now I think… (Where you talk about something new that you discovered about the person or topic).
  • Text to Self Connection: (Where you talk about something in your own life that the text reminds you of).
    • What does this remind me of in my life?
    • What is this similar to in my life?
    • How is this different from my life?
    • Has something like this ever happened to me?
    • How does this relate to my life?
    • What were my feelings when I read this?
  • Text to World Connection: (Where you talk about issues in the wider world that the text reminds you of)
    • What does this remind me of in the real world?
    • How is this text similar to things that happen in the real world?
    • How is this different from things that happen in the real world?
    • How did that part relate to the world around me?

Powerful Picture Response (JF): Search your class’s writing in the Powerful Picture forum to choose one posted story/description that you’d like to work with. Respond to the “Powerful Picture” in your choice of three ways! Include the author’s name and a powerful “pull quote” from the text.

  • Used to Think… But now I think… (Where you talk about something new that you discovered about the person or topic).
  • Text to Self Connection: (Where you talk about something in your own life that the text reminds you of).
    • What does this remind me of in my life?
    • What is this similar to in my life?
    • How is this different from my life?
    • Has something like this ever happened to me?
    • How does this relate to my life?
    • What were my feelings when I read this?
  • Text to World Connection: (Where you talk about issues in the wider world that the text reminds you of)
    • What does this remind me of in the real world?
    • How is this text similar to things that happen in the real world?
    • How is this different from things that happen in the real world?
    • How did that part relate to the world around me?

Your Choice of Response (JF): Search your class’s writing in the Vivid Descriptions and Powerful Picture forums to choose one more posted story/description that you’d like to work with. Respond to the “Vivid Description” in your choice of three ways (as above)! Include the author’s name and a powerful “pull quote” from the text.

