Learn your world. Be curious. Make connections. Get involved.
Learn your world. Be curious. Make connections. Get involved.

Objective

Select and read highly interesting nonfiction texts at your reading level using an online service (Newsela) — and respond intelligently.

Today’s First Mission

  1. Use Newsela Instructions 701 to create an account on the online news service Newsela with the help of our team.
  2. Make a note in your Evernote journal called “Newsela Password” and save your password there.
  3. Choose and read an article on a cool topic. (You decide what’s cool).
  4. Summarize the article in one thick paragraph in your Evernote journal  (call it “Cool News”)
  5. Write an I see… I think… I wonder… paragraph about your article and add it to your “Cool News”).

“I see… I think… I wonder…” is a way to respond to ideas that we will use many times. Notice things, think about what they mean, and get curious. It’s easy.

Oh. And check this fun fact for Spanish speakers: Thinking In Spanish Smaller

